Splurge or Conserve?

16 Feb

Put away the winter woolies….Toronto temperatures finally surpassed freezing point! Sunny evenings sipping chilled beers on rooftop bars are almost in sight – (perhaps if I had a pair of Go-Go Gadget Spy Glasses!)

First we need to make it through The big thaw ahead, stock piles of melting winter snow & rainy Spring days galore will transform the City  from a winter wonderland to a concrete wet-land. Which creates the perfect excuse need for a pair of rain boots or as I call them wellies

Hunters have been on my Wish-List for quite some-time now. I love the detail of the buckle & snake print leather but the price-tag has deterred me & so this leads me to plan B, the Chookas…

Splurge or Conserve – that is the question??

13 Responses to “Splurge or Conserve?”

  1. Krystal/Village February 16, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    i say splurge 🙂

  2. twenty something February 16, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I say conserve! The cheaper rainboots are still adorable!! And rubber is rubber, right? It’s not like Hunter makes better rubber… it’s just the name you’d be paying for! I have a cheaper pair from Urban Outfitters that look like riding boots and I always get compliments on them!

    http://artfashiontwentysomething.blogspot.com

  3. Shin February 16, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    I love the name Chookas :-)..so cute! I would say splurge because it looks more chic and will last longer! If the price was over $200.00, I would have said no but I think it’s a good buy for a quality boots! lol..yeah, all we need is a winning lottery ticket to buy all the things we want! xoxoxoo

  4. The Licentiate February 16, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Maybe try it on a cost-per-wear basis? If you’re going to need the boots a lot, the you’ll need something that’s hard wearing. Hunters are really well made and will last you for years but if you’ll only be using the boots a few times then conserve!

  5. Kate February 17, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    I gotta say I really love my Hunters, but the conserve option is pretty awesome too!!
    velvet cupcakes

  6. alexdonald February 17, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Have two pairs of Hunters and they rule. Their soles are very comfortable so you can wear them for ages and your feet don’t get sore the way they do with cheap boots. My top tip is to stick a sheepskin insole inside them – toasty warm!

  7. MelRod February 17, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I say Conserve because the Chooka ones are actually really cute!!

    xoxo,
    melrod

  8. Shin February 17, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    I know! I have no idea what some of the buttons do on my camera and I have to buy some dummies book on amazon to learn the basics first! Before I used to only use point and shoot and now that I have a DSLR, I thought the pictures would turn out better but since I don’t know what I’m doing, they didn’t turn out the way I want it to be. But I hope that with practice, I can start using it like a pro 🙂 xooxoxo

  9. zzoit February 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    For Hunters… I’d splurge! 🙂

    Love Grace.

  10. Living Easy Loving Free February 17, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Thanks for all the feedback ladies – I’m hoping to pick them up tomorrow so i’ll keep you all posted if I Splurge or Conserve….

    Alex, thanks for the tip a sheepskin insole sounds like heaven for the feet! 😉

    Shin – yep so much to learn, as the saying goes…practice makes perfect. Send me your email address & ill forward you a link I was given, it has some good beginner photography tips 😉

  11. Samantha February 17, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    They’re both super cute! I’ve wanted Hunters forever!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    -Samantha

    http://thisfashionista.blogspot.com

  12. Marilyn February 18, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I say splurge, because the hunter are really cute and chic! I think its worth the money because you will have them for years, and wear them with almost everything

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Choo Love « - February 23, 2011

    […] may recall my little dilemma to Splurge or Conserve, well here are the […]

Leave a Reply

