Homely Touches

18 Feb

I want to add some homely touches to our downtown apartment & when I think of home in Ireland, freshly cut flowers come to mind. My mother is a florist & has a natural talent for making the most beautiful flower arrangements to decorate our home. Unfortunately for me I was not blessed with this gene! My time in Toronto has seen the untimely death of my two house plants, in fact the sole survivor of any plant life that has entered our apartment is our fig tree “Arthur”, who is mostly taken care of by my boyfriend.

So for the safety of all innocent flowers out there, I am in search of the silk variety….I think I have found the perfect fit in the silk Hydrangea & Dahlia arrangement above – from Melrose Fields Shop on Etsy

Meet Arthur – Who never gives up!

6 Responses to “Homely Touches”

  1. Shin February 18, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Hi Emma! Those flowers from the Etsy shop are beautiful! I’m really bad at taking care of plants too so I need some artificial ones too! Thank you for the suggestion. Will email you soon 🙂 xoxoxoxoo

  2. Krystal/Village February 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I am also horrible horrible at taking care of plants 😦 I have to ask…when you say homely, I thought homely was a negative thing? I think there might be another word for what you are going for, haha! But tell me if I’m wrong 🙂

  3. ChickNamedHermia February 18, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I’m not big on plants, but flowers are a great idea! I always prefer fresh ones though!

  4. twenty something February 18, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    The silk ones look great! I’m awful with plants… definitely don’t have the green thumb!

  5. Living Easy Loving Free February 19, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Krystal – homely for me is all the characteristics that make up my home… 🙂 I definitely did not mean it in a negative sense. But thanks for highlighting it to me…perhaps it’s an Irish turn of phrase 🙂

  6. The Licentiate February 20, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Ditto on the lack of green thumbs, everything just seems to wither the minute I bring it in the door. Plants just must not like us!

Leave a Reply

