Pancake Thursday

25 Feb

Pancake Tuesday stirs lot’s of happy memories, sitting at my Nana’s kitchen table in midst pancake warfare with my brother, both of us trying to scoff each pancake faster than the other, for fear the mountainous stacks would run out! Or the year we were watching my dad flipping the pancakes, we were telling him to flip them higher it was all fun & games until one actually got stuck on the ceiling. We fell about the kitchen in laughter…until it dawned on us we were now down one pancake & so the warfare continued!

Then there was the pancake binge myself & boyfriend under-took, starting with the 80s childhood classic filling lemon & sugar, we then moved onto jam & cream, followed by chocolate & strawberries & last but not least maple syrup. We were suffering from pancake sickness for about two days after!

You can understand my devastation today when I realized that for the first time I forgot Pancake Tuesday, old age must be creeping in earlier than expected. So this year I  celebrated my very own Pancake Thursday, I made a stack of pancakes filled with all the trimmings, yummy!

I have a lot of batter left-over…so filling suggestions are welcome

 EDIT – Folks crisis averted – Pancake Tuesday is March 8th….Sorry for any panic caused 🙂 

13 Responses to “Pancake Thursday”

  1. neekoh February 25, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Those pancakes are exactly the ones we used to make back in the motherland. Such pretty photos!

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  2. Shin February 25, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    What a great story! I love it when food brings back so many fond memories! Those pancakes look delicious! When I eat them, I put a huge amount of syrup and butter..and whipped cream with nuts! It’s embarassing for everyone to see how much sweets I eat..but I can’t help it, haha 🙂 xoxoxo

  3. whisty February 25, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Oh man, I forgot pancack day too… 😦
    Loved ‘fighting’ with my sis over who could eat the most!
    I’m afraid I’m pretty boring when it comes to fillings tho, lemon & sugar for Crepe’s and syrup with streaky bacon for Amercian-style pancakes. Once you have pancakes in Queens NY you know what works!
    Xx

    • Living Easy Loving Free February 25, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      Oops sorry Whisty Pancake Tues is on March 8th….so let the battle begin between you & your sis! 🙂
      Totally agree you can beat American/Canadian pancakes with streaky bacon 🙂 x

  4. Aleta February 25, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    How cute is that pan(cake) holder! ❤

  5. Marilyn February 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    those pancakes look so nice and fluffy ^^ cute post

  6. MelRod February 25, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Ugh, now I’m craving pancakes!!! Yum!!

    xoxo,
    melrod

  7. Laurita P February 25, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    pancakes and nutella…my mouth is watering!

  8. Ms. Eggplant February 25, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    very cute post! there’s a restaurant here called Pancake House, you can order pancakes with sweet corn, very good 🙂 i also like bananas in my pancakes, whipped butter is the best! 🙂

    join my STila giveaway!
    http://fashioneggplant.blogspot.com

  9. michelle February 27, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    looks soooo good 🙂

    2 new posts
    http://pinklemonincrystal.blogspot.com

  10. Emma! February 27, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Why did I read this – very tempted to go make some pancakes now!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pancake Party – Part Deux « - March 8, 2011

    […] though we already celebrated (here) we couldn’t resist a do-over. This time the boyfriend donned the chef’s hat, he cooked […]

Leave a Reply

