Lá Féile Pádraig – Happy St Patrick’s Day

16 Mar


All photos taken on my trips home July 10 & Dec 10 – Co. Kerry & Co. Kildare

Lá Féile Pádraig do gach duine – Happy St Patrick’s Day everyone!

It’s hard to believe that this will be my third year celebrating St Patrick’s Day in Canada &  although I was only home at Christmas I miss it already, family, friends, my dog’s, tea, chocolate …ok ill just summarize everything Irish!

So here is my St Patrick’s Day special a few of photos from home and you will have to excuse me as I am feeling very patriotic so here’s my list of…….Why I am so proud to be Irish

  • We laugh when we’re up & we laugh when we’re down – I love the Irish sense of humour, you can’t beat it
  • Ireland is the third most charitable country in the world – Despite being in our worst ever recession we are still a nation of givers!!
  • Us Irish have our own lingo & words – such as “You know your one with the hair?” – “Stop acting the maggot” find more here
  • An Irish company designed & manufactured the drill that rescued the Chilean Miners
  • We can create any excuse to throw a party – from the day you are born up until you are laid to rest…you will be celebrating!
  • Ireland is a neutral country – our army has been deployed in many countries around the globe on peace keeping missions
  • The Irish are a creative bunch, Oscar Wilde, Bram Stoker, James Joyce, George Bernard Shaw, William Butler Yeats, Seamus Heaney, Roddy Doyle & Samuel Beckett to name but a few of our wonderful authors – Thin Lizzy, U2, The Pogues, The Script, The Corrs, Sinead O Connor & The Cranberries some of our top musicians
  • The Irish gave the world – Guinness, Whiskey, Bailey’s & the Irish Pub – there is a saving that goes “God invented alcohol so that Irish wouldn’t rule the world”
  • Ireland is sporting nation – our national sports such Gaelic Football & Hurling is increasing in popularity internationally , other sports we are crazy about is Horse Racing, Golf & Rugby
  • An Irish man designed the Oscars statuette, an Irish man designed the White House
  • My favourite Irish movies of all time, The Snapper, My Left Foot, Intermission, In The Name of The Father, The Quiet Man & The Commitments

This is a short list – if you can add to it please do

Unfortunately as it isn’t a bank holiday here I will be working, but once 5 O Clock rolls around I am meeting my friends in our local Irish bar festivities will begin!!

Enjoy your St Patrick’s Day, I hope you celebrate Irish style!

10 Responses to “Lá Féile Pádraig – Happy St Patrick’s Day”

  1. Laurita P March 17, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    i’m excited to celebrate the holiday too! if i remember correctly it’s set in ireland, but either way you should check out the movie Waking Ned Divine. it is great.

  2. Shin March 17, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    Wow Emma! Reading your list makes me wish I were Irish! What an accomplished and impressive country! I didn’t know some of my favorite musicians and authors were Irish! How ignorant of me! You have every reason to be proud! I love the pictures, especially your home and dogs 🙂 xxoxoo

  3. Krystal/Village March 17, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    Your pictures are all so wonderful! I am not Irish but I totally wish I were. I do celebrate fully though 🙂

  4. modanista junkie March 17, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I would miss my family and dog too if I were away.
    Great photos!

    xoxo,
    melrod

  5. sharon March 17, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Briiliantly written piece emsi!!! Being Irish is definitely to be celebrated if with all the doom and gloom!! Happy Paddys Day to you hun!! Love the pictures esp the grass hse where is that?? Oh and The Snapper what a classic if i do say so myself Haha! Also Breakfast on Pluto is another amazing Irish film!! Filmed in Callan where I now work and also the guy that designed the white house was also from Callan in Cill Channaigh!

    The kettle is always on!

    May you always have
    Walls for the winds,
    A roof for the rain,
    Tea beside the fire,
    Laughter to cheer you,
    Those you love near you,
    And all your heart might desire!

    May you be in
    Heaven a half hour before the
    Devil knows you’re dead!

    When Irish eyes are smiling,
    Tis like a morn in spring.
    With a lilt of Irish laughter
    You can hear the angels sing
    When Irish hearts are happy
    All the world is bright and gay
    When Irish eyes are smiling
    Sure, they steal your heart away.

    May your blessings outnumber
    The shamrocks that grow,
    And may trouble avoid you
    Wherever you go.

    May the best day of your past
    Be the worst day of your future.

    May you live to be a hundred years
    With one extra year to repent.

    As you slide down the banister of life,
    May the splinters never point in the wrong direction!

    May luck be our companion
    May friends stand by our side

    Ná glac pioc comhairle gan comhairle ban

    Love and Hugs
    Slainte
    Love shaz xx

    • Living Easy Loving Free March 19, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

      Wowza thanks – kettle is always on so true miss the big pots of tea we used to share & chats after a night out! Xx

  6. Emma! March 19, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    My favourite post of yours!! Brilliant!!! Now Im trying to think how I can add to your list! You should blow up the pic for a wall picture of your mams house and the dogs – its a brill snap!!!

  7. Alex March 22, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Like everyone else I loved this post. It’s nice to be reminded of the things that are great about our country rather than the economic mess we have gotten ourselves into! I think our morale is low and as a nation we feel like we are the laughing stock of the world for our political and economic decisions. We need more posts like this to help regain our national pride.

    • Living Easy Loving Free April 12, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      Cheers Alex. For such a small country we have a lot to be proud of & we need to remember that, especially during these tough times..If history has taught us anything its that we are a resilient nation, it will take time but we will come back stronger…….

Leave a Reply

